Welcome to Sweet Spot Book Blog! Our motto: Read, Love, Review & Pimp our favorite books. 
WARNING: Please be advised that some of our content may be unsuitable for ages 18 and under. 

ARC review: RUSH (Phoenix Rising #3) by Joan Swan

Jessica Fury, Washington lobbyist, has money, connections, and her own firm. But five years ago she had something better: happiness. Her firefighter husband, Quaid, was handsome, courageous, and crazy about her. Then one day he walked into a chemical inferno—and never walked out. Jessica has been through hell to get back on her feet. And then a rumor surfaces that could bring a miracle or shatter her world – again.

Q has been a prisoner forever. He’s honed his mind and body into weapons. He’s developed abilities no one else understands. But he’s still at the mercy of a cabal of ruthless men, who blank his memory, test him like a lab rat, and tell him lies. Although his past has been erased and his future looks grim, instinct tells him he has a woman to live for. What his mind can’t remember, his body can’t forget…

The heat is on.

4.0 - 4.5 Stars
I'm a huge fan of Joan Swan's Phoenix Rising series! I've been anticipating this book since the very beginning. As I was reading Rush, I realized quickly that this installment was going to be a little different than the previous two. While both Fever and Blaze were highly fast-paced and thrilling, Joan Swan slows things down a bit to tell the story of Jessica and Quaid resulting in one heck of an emotional roller-coaster. My gut twisted! My heart wrenched! But don't get me wrong, there's still plenty of suspense and danger that kept me bouncing in my seat.

This is a one in a zillion opportunity, Quaid. How often do people get a second chance to find love with their once-in-a-lifetime?” --Jessica (pg. 265 paperback ARC of Rush)

She thought she lost him forever. After five long years Jessica Fury receives some promising news that she refuses to believe. For Q, everything that was Quaid had been torn away from him...his life as a firefighter, his happiness, his loving wife, and all his memories. For five years Q was held captive and used in experiments. After finally being rescued and reunited with Jessica, the painful process of healing begins. Jessica and Quaid's journey to be together again is extremely emotional and tragic. Ms. Swan does a wonderful job at showing what had happened to Q in those five years, which made me angry that this happy, fun-loving couple had their lives ripped apart in the first place. I loved that there were glimpses of Jessica and Quaid during more blissful times, too. Even with all the angst, Rush will leave you with the feeling of hope.

All the favorite characters in the series are present and working together as a team. All their abilities are used. There is also a huge set up for the next book, Shatter. Joan Swan has been teasing us with Mitch throughout the series. He is one cocky and mysterious dude. He's more than meets the eye, and I can't wait to find out about all his secrets!

Reading order for the Phoenix Rising series:
Shatter – coming soon!

* A complimentary copy was provided in exchange for an honest review *

No comments:

Post a Comment