Welcome to Sweet Spot Book Blog! Our motto: Read, Love, Review & Pimp our favorite books. 
WARNING: Please be advised that some of our content may be unsuitable for ages 18 and under. 

Sixth Grave on the Edge by Darynda Jones Audiobook #Review

Title: Sixth Grave On the Edge
Author: Darynda Jones
Series: Charley Davidson #6
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Release Date: May 20, 2014
Source: Purchased

Sometimes I wrestle my demons. Sometimes we just snuggle. (Bumper Sticker)

Most girls might think twice before getting engaged to someone like Reyes Farrow - but Charley Davidson is not most girls. She's a paranormal private eye and grim-reaper-in-training who's known to be a bit of a hell-raiser, especially after a few shots of caffeine. Her beloved Reyes may be the only begotten son of evil, but he's dark and sultry and deeply sexy and everything Charley could hope for. Really. But when the FBI file on Reyes' childhood happens to land into her lap, she can't help herself: She opens it...and then the real fun begins. First, Charley finds a naked corpse riding shotgun in her car. Then, a man loses his soul in a card game. Throw in a deaf boy who sees dead people, a woman running from mobsters, and a very suspicious Reyes, and things can't get any worse for Charley. Unless, of course, the 12 Beasts of Hell are unleashed....

Macmillan Audio
Narrated by Lorelei King

Five Stars

“A girl, a mocha latte, and a naked dead man walk into a bar.” ~ Charley

LOL, I gotta love how this book begins! As a huge fan of this series, especially on audiobook, I am once again thoroughly entertained with the latest installment of the Charley Davidson series.

The “Get Cookie laid” plan. Awww! I love Cookie! She deserves some love, doesn’t she? I think the person Ms. Jones paired her with is perfect, and hopefully we’ll see a little more of where things go with them in the next book.

As the series progresses, there are certain characters that just really stick with you. Mr. Wong got a smidge more page time. Was that a tease of more to come with him? My interest is definitely piqued! I loved the character development for Quentin, Amber, and Angel. The friendship between Quentin and Amber makes me smile. I know they’re still young, but Cookie better brace herself since Amber is growing up so quickly. Quentin…poor kid! I think he got pretty traumatized in this book. Then there is Angel.  He made me giggle in one moment and then cry at his backstory.

Speaking of backstories, more of Reyes’ history is exposed…holy hell!!!

I heart Charley! Can I be her when I grow up? I mean, she gets to be with Reyes Alexander Farrow!!! Thud! Now before I talk about Charley and Reyes, I wanted to mention that I love the crossing over moments she experiences, which are always so different. When the dead cross over through Charley she sees images of their lives.  The dead girl’s story in this book just absolutely broke my heart into pieces. I think it’s one of Jones’ most powerful experiences she’s written for Charley.

I’m so addicted to Charley and Reyes! Once again Jones kicks it up a notch between them. Their scenes will keep you on the edge and make you want to splash cold water on yourself! There's still so much more of their story to tell, and I'm excited and curious of where things are heading. Again, like the previous book, the ending on this one makes me salivate for more, more, more!

There really wasn’t anything I didn’t love except that now I have to wait for the next book.

Did you know that the print version of this book has an extra bonus chapter? I listened to this book, but I happened to be at the library one day and couldn’t resist checking out this bonus chapter. It’s one of the steamy scenes in Sixth Grave on the Edge in Reyes’ POV! If you’re a Reyes fan like me, you will find this bonus chapter absolutely delicious! As for the audiobook, I adored it! I continue to find Lorelei King’s narration of this series to be simply amazing!

To both Darynda Jones and Lorelei King:  Thank you for another wild and crazy and touching installment! #impressed

Book Links:

Charley Davidson Series
Book 1.5 novella: For I Have Sinned
Book 5.5 novella: Shimmer
Book 5.6 novella: Glow
Book 7: Seventh Grave and No Body (October 2014)

About the author:
NYTimes and USA Today Bestselling Author Darynda Jones has won numerous awards for her work, including a prestigious Golden Heart®, a Rebecca, two Hold Medallions, a RITA ®, and a Daphne du Maurier, and she has received stellar reviews from dozens of publications including starred reviews from Publisher’s Weekly, Booklist, and the Library Journal. As a born storyteller, Darynda grew up spinning tales of dashing damsels and heroes in distress for any unfortunate soul who happened by, annoying man and beast alike, and she is ever so grateful for the opportunity to carry on that tradition. She currently has two series with St. Martin’s Press: The Charley Davidson Series and the Darklight Trilogy. She lives in the Land of Enchantment, also known as New Mexico, with her husband of almost 30 years and two beautiful sons, the Mighty, Mighty Jones Boys. She can be found at www.daryndajones.com.


  1. This is one of my favorite series of all time on audio. I can't wait for the next book, which is just a few months away. Yay! Great review.

    1. Thank you! Yeah, mine too. I started out reading this series, but once I saw all the wonderful Charley Davidson audiobook reviews on Hot Listens, I had to try them out and then never looked back. They're so addicting for sure!

  2. Yes! I love this series so Grace and have begun collecting the audible additions for my second read through!

    1. That's awesome you're doing a second read through, Kimba!

  3. These books are just awesome!! And this wasn't the exception. Great review Grace :) I totally agree!

    1. Thank you, Loupe. October seems so far away. I already need another Charley/Reyes fix! :)

  4. Woohoo yeah, I loved this book too. I'm so looking forward to finding out what's up with Mr. Wong.

    1. Right, Christy?! I think he's got something interesting to say. ;)